Spring 2016 Scores and Highlights

Spring 2016 Scores and Highlights


Shooters 29, Eagles 23
Shooters: Logan Finkelstein (8 points) Chad Sher (2 points); Ryan Brinkman (defense)
Eagles: Max McDougall (6 points); Trey Vestal (3 points); Benjamin Friedman (rebounding and defense)

The Shooters upset the top seeded Eagles in a game that was not decided until late in the fourth quarter when Logan Finkelstein scored four points to ice the win.


Terps 14, Raging Bulls 12
Terps: Derek Telchin (7 points); Jack Pawlowski (5 points), Anirudh Venkat (2 points)
Raging Bulls: Tyler Griffin 9 points; Joseph Chille (rebounding and defense); Jake Smiler (2 points)

The Terps stunned the Raging Bulls on two key free throws by Derek Telchin with 5 seconds remaining in the game. The Raging Bulls had been undefeated until the Championship game and were led by Tyler Griffin’s aggressive offensive performance.


Wildcats 26, Hoosiers 15
Wildcats: Preston Calder (8 points); Joey Sarnelli (6 points); Nick Campanelli (5 points)
Hoosiers: Jaden Kaiser (7 points); Josh Artzi (3 points); Izak Wein (2 points)

The Wildcats used balanced scoring to stop the Hoosiers’ tournament run. Preston Calder’s relentless defensive aggressiveness led to several fast break baskets for the Wildcats. The game was tied at halftime but the smothering defense of the Wildcats allowed only two second-half points as they completed their championship run.


Shooting Stars 42, Gators 20
Shooting Stars: Brandon Silver (23 points); Jonah Katz (8 points); Tyler Cordero (6 points)
Gators: Brandon Yellin and Keiran Davis (7 points each); Ben Rosenthal and Jason Smith (rebounding)

Shooting Stars’ Brandon Silver, who was designated the game’s MVP, exploded for 16 points in the first quarter to lead his team from wire to wire. Jonah Katz added 8 points for the champions, who also won the regular season title. Keiran Davis and Brandon Yellion made a valiant effort to keep the Gators close but the Shooting Stars pulled away in the third period.


Wildcats 51, Owls 48
Wildcats: Jared Goldstein (17 points); Truce Levine (13 points; leadership); Stephen Osborne (10 points)
Owls: Matt Niketic (18 points); Evan Sikes (8 points); Forrest Weiss (7 points)

In a game that wasn’t decided until the final minute, the Wildcats upset the regular season champion Owls behind the energy and effort of tournament MVP Truce Levine. The Wildcats also got a big scoring effort from Jared Goldstein and team-wide rebounding and defensive effort. Matt Niketic of the Owls led all scorers with 18 points as 8 different players contributed to the Owls scoring.


Bulldogs 42, Lions 32
Bulldogs: LBrandon Oken (18 points); Fuje Theodore (9 points); Logan Adams (7 points)
Lions: Bryan Eidelkind (11 points); Andrew Kaye (7 points); Juan Gonzalez (defense)

Brandon Oken, the Championship Game MVP, played a smart game with few turnovers and good shot selection and passing. The Bulldogs got help from seven other players who scored and everyone on the team contributed with rebounding and steady defense. The Lions, despite playing without one of their strongest players, stayed close throughout the game. Ryan Eidelkind scored 11 points for the Lions and Andrew Kaye contributed 7 points and many rebounds.


Eagles 43, Wildcats 32
Eagles: David Ben Joseph (16 points); Dominic Petrone (10 points); Jordan Rosenblum (8 points)
Wildcats: Max Dorb (10 points); Freddy Moronta (9 points); Matt Cohen (6 points)

Led by Championship game MVP David Ben Joseph’s 16 points and Dominic Petrone’s on-court leadership, the Eagles led throughout the game but never were able to pull away from the Wildcats until the final moments. Max Dorb and Matt Cohen led the Wildcats, who had an outstanding tournament run to get to the finals.


Lobsters 54, Terriers 31
Lobsters: Reid Bleecher (15 points); Michael Ben Rubie (10 points); Robbie Geller and Danny Litman (10 points)
Terriers: Tyler Shevin (10 points); Drew Feinerman and Logan Levin (5 points); Noah Barrick (defense and rebounding)

Led by Championship Game MVP Reid Bleecher and the playmaking of Robbie Geller, the Lobsters jumped out to an early lead and were never headed by the Terriers, who struggled from 3-point range and had a difficult time penetrating to the basket throughout the game due to the aggressive defense of the Lobsters.


Red Hearts 9, Tar Heels 6
Red Hearts: Charleigh Herbster (7 points); Marley Asbury (2 points); Rachel Sareli (effort)
Tar Heels: Paige Grossman, Sadie Berke, and Jordan Berke (2 points each)

The Red Hearts survived a defensive battle to claim the title. All of the girls on both teams gave their maximum effort on defense which kept the scoring at a minimum.


Gators 27, Orange 22
Gators: Amy Niketic (10 points); Allyson Archambault (9 points); Sydney Salk (3 points)
Orange: Arianna Salbe (8 points); Helen Blackman (5 points); Lily Isaacson (effort)

The Gators upset the top-seeded Orange on the strength of Championship Game MVP Allyson Archambault’s 8 second-quarter points, which helped her team gain a lead they never relinquished.